DUI and Alcohol Offenses as a Juvenile in Pennsylvania

It's not difficult for people under the age of 21 to get their hands on an alcoholic beverage. In fact, many law enforcement agencies have deemed underage drinking inevitable. In their efforts to deter this behavior, authorities have likely discovered what most underage drinkers and teens have known (but won't admit) for years: alcohol is easily accessible. Individuals under the age of 21, specifically teens, have found ways to get alcohol without having to pay for it, and if they do, they give their money to a person who can legally buy the alcohol for them. Whether they obtain it at home, from their friends, or at a party, merely possessing alcohol, even with intentions to not consume it, can expose underage individuals to serious criminal charges.

If you or your child has been charged with an alcohol-related offense in Pennsylvania, your first step should be to retain a skilled criminal defense attorney. A legal professional is equipped to provide a solid defense for you that could either get your charges significantly reduced, or get your case dismissed altogether. Your next step would be to gain a clear understanding of how the state approaches and remedies underage drinking and related crimes. In this article, we will help you with the second step by providing a comprehensive review of the following juvenile alcohol offenses: underage DUI, the implied consent law, and minor in possession.

Underage DUI

One of the most common alcohol-related charges acquired by juveniles in Pennsylvania is an underage DUI. Due to the disproportionate rates of DUI related fatalities caused by juvenile motorists, the state enforces a no tolerance approach to underage drinking. Thus, the consumption of alcohol by anyone in this demographic is illegal without any exceptions.

The blood alcohol concentration (BAC) limit for drivers under 21 is .02%. At this level of impairment, motorists begin to feel the moderate effects of alcohol. Chemical test findings taken by juvenile drivers that are at .02% or exceed this limit will result in the citing of an underage DUI.


Pennsylvania's stern approach to underage DUIs is mirrored by the mandatory minimums imposed for a conviction of this crime. For a first offense, motorists can expect to spend up to 90 days in jail and pay a fine of up to $500. For subsequent offenses, underage drivers will face up to six months in a county jail, pay a fine up to $2,500 and undergo a license suspension for one year.

Implied consent law

So, let's say you've had a drink or two at a party and you feel capable of safely driving home. On your way home, you believe you are driving carefully, but you peak the interest of an officer. Before you know it, you have those notorious red and blue lights trailing behind you. After pulling over onto the side of the road, the police officer vocalizes that he suspects that you're driving under the influence of alcohol, and requests that you take a chemical test. In response to this request, you apprehensively refuse to take a test. Your line of reasoning is if you don't take the test, or stall the test, you can't get arrested and ultimately charged with a DUI.

Many people in this scenario have found out the hard way that refusing to take a urine, breath, or chemical test at the request of an officer is illegal under the state's “implied consent” law. The notion is that by driving on state roadways, it is implied that you have agreed to chemical testing for the purpose of determining your BAC.


Refusing DUI chemical testing can result in penalties that are more severe than the repercussions for a general DUI conviction. A first refusal will lead to a license suspension of one year and a $500 reinstatement fee. For a second or subsequent violation of this law, the license suspension will last for 18 months, and you'll have to pay a steeper reinstatement fee.

Minor in possession

It is illegal for a minor to attempt or to commission the crime of buying, possessing, or knowingly and intentionally transporting alcoholic beverages. For the prosecution of this crime, proof of consumption or isn't considered by the courts. Merely having an alcoholic beverage in your actual or constructive possession is enough to constitute the committance of this offense.

Despite its broad and absolute statutory authority, the state provides a number of exceptions to this law to be applied in minor in possession cases. In limited employment circumstances, in cases where there is a medical emergency, or when there's adult supervision, minors may be exempt from prosecution.


“Minor in possession” is charged as a summary offense, which carries penalties of a license suspension and a $500 fine. Subsequent offenses lead to a lengthier license suspension and a fine of up to $1,000.

Pennsylvania Criminal Defense Attorney

The creation of a criminal record will haunt your child for the rest of his or her life. Being admitted into the college of their dreams, initiating a career they love, and other aspects of their life that they should be looking forward to will be tainted by the existence of a looming and restrictive criminal record. LLF Law Firm has over 15 years of experience representing juvenile clients who've acquired alcohol-related charges, and they are passionate about keeping young people out of the bind of the merciless criminal justice system.

If your child has been charged with any of the crimes indicated above, immediately contact Pennsylvania criminal defense attorneys at LLF Law Firm today at 888-535-3686 for a consultation.

Contact Us Today!

The LLF Law Firm Team has decades of experience successfully resolving clients' criminal charges in Philadelphia and the Pennsylvania counties. If you are having any uncertainties about what the future may hold for you or a loved one, contact the LLF Law Firm today! Our Criminal Defense Team will go above and beyond the needs of any client, and will fight until the final bell rings.

This website was created only for general information purposes. It is not intended to be construed as legal advice for any situation. Only a direct consultation with a licensed Pennsylvania, New Jersey, and New York attorney can provide you with formal legal counsel based on the unique details surrounding your situation. The pages on this website may contain links and contact information for third party organizations - the Lento Law Firm does not necessarily endorse these organizations nor the materials contained on their website. In Pennsylvania, Attorney Joseph D. Lento represents clients throughout Pennsylvania's 67 counties, including, but not limited to Philadelphia, Allegheny, Berks, Bucks, Carbon, Chester, Dauphin, Delaware, Lancaster, Lehigh, Monroe, Montgomery, Northampton, Schuylkill, and York County. In New Jersey, attorney Joseph D. Lento represents clients throughout New Jersey's 21 counties: Atlantic, Bergen, Burlington, Camden, Cape May, Cumberland, Essex, Gloucester, Hudson, Hunterdon, Mercer, Middlesex, Monmouth, Morris, Ocean, Passaic, Salem, Somerset, Sussex, Union, and Warren County, In New York, Attorney Joseph D. Lento represents clients throughout New York's 62 counties. Outside of Pennsylvania, New Jersey, and New York, unless attorney Joseph D. Lento is admitted pro hac vice if needed, his assistance may not constitute legal advice or the practice of law. The decision to hire an attorney in Philadelphia, the Pennsylvania counties, New Jersey, New York, or nationwide should not be made solely on the strength of an advertisement. We invite you to contact the Lento Law Firm directly to inquire about our specific qualifications and experience. Communicating with the Lento Law Firm by email, phone, or fax does not create an attorney-client relationship. The Lento Law Firm will serve as your official legal counsel upon a formal agreement from both parties. Any information sent to the Lento Law Firm before an attorney-client relationship is made is done on a non-confidential basis.