Domestic Violence Penalties in Pennsylvania

Being accused of domestic violence in Pennsylvania is highly disruptive under any circumstances. Because your accuser by definition is someone with whom you have a close relationship (i.e., spouse, live-in relative, cohabitant, etc.), your relationship is suddenly fragmented--and if a Protection from Abuse (PFA) order is issued, you'll be barred from contact with that person. Your mind is likely filled with many questions, not the least of which are, will I be charged with a crime? And what penalties will I face if I'm convicted?

Not every allegation of domestic violence results in criminal charges, but when it happens, the penalties for conviction may be severe. Pennsylvania takes domestic violence and abuse seriously, so it is of the utmost importance to have a skilled domestic violence defense attorney in your corner to defend you. The LLF Law Firm Criminal Defense team, can ensure your rights are protected and that you are given a fair chance to defend against the charges. To schedule a consultation, call 888-535-3686.

Criminal Domestic Violence in Pennsylvania

To understand the possible penalties for being convicted of a crime, you must first understand how domestic violence laws work in the State of Pennsylvania. By law, the only thing that differentiates an act of domestic violence from other similar crimes is the relationship between the accused and the alleged victim. If you assault someone you just met in a bar, for example, you've committed the crime of simple assault--but if you commit the same kind of assault against your spouse or someone you're dating, it's considered domestic violence. The primary differences are that you're more likely to be arrested on the word of the victim (the police are required to make an arrest on domestic violence calls) and that you may have a PFA filed against you if the victim sees you as a threat. But if you face criminal charges for assaulting your spouse, you'll be charged with assault, the same as if you assaulted someone in a bar--not a separate crime of domestic violence.

Penalties for Domestic Violence Crimes in Pennsylvania

The penalties you face if convicted of a crime of domestic violence will depend on the specific crime you're charged with, and its level of severity (e.g., misdemeanor or felony). The judge may also take into account other factors such as your prior criminal history, prior allegations of abuse, the severity of any injuries to the victim, etc. The maximum penalty will be based on the underlying crime on which the accusation of domestic abuse is based.

Depending on the crime and the severity of the offense, a person could face the following penalties for domestic violence based on how the crime is charged. The standard maximum penalties are as follows, from least severe to most severe.

Third Degree Misdemeanor Offenses

Examples of domestic violence third-degree misdemeanors include harassment, cyber harassment.

  • Maximum Fine – $2,500
  • Maximum Sentence – 1 year in jail

Second Degree Misdemeanor Offenses

Examples include simple assault (the most common type of domestic violence), unlawful dissemination of intimate image ("revenge porn"), strangulation, false imprisonment.

  • Maximum Fine – $5,000
  • Maximum Sentence – 2 years in prison

First Degree Misdemeanor Offenses

Examples include stalking, terroristic threats, unlawful restraint.

  • Maximum Fine – $10,000
  • Maximum Sentence – 5 years in prison

Third Degree Felony Offenses

Examples include criminal trespass, false imprisonment, criminal mischief (damaging one's property over $5000 in value), interference with custody of children.

  • Maximum Fine – $15,000
  • Maximum Sentence – 7 years in prison

Second Degree Felony Offenses

Examples include sexual assault, aggravated assault, indecent assault.

  • Maximum Fine – $25,000
  • Maximum Sentence – 10 years in prison

First Degree Felony

Examples include kidnapping, rape, murder.

  • Maximum Fine – $25,000
  • Maximum Sentence – 20 years in prison

Aggravating and Mitigating Factors

The maximum penalties listed above are the general standard for each of these levels of domestic violence crimes—but they aren't set in stone. Judges have the ability to consider mitigating factors when determining a sentence. By the same token, the law also calls for enhanced sentencing when certain aggravating factors exist. Thus, if the judge has sufficient reason to exert leniency based on mitigating factors, the court may impose a lesser sentence than the maximum. However, if the crime qualifies for enhancements, the penalties may be greater--whether in the form of upgrading the level of your offense or by the judge adding enhanced sentencing.

As a general rule of thumb, for example, if you have prior convictions for domestic abuse, you can expect your criminal charges to be upgraded by at least one degree. For instance, if this is your second offense of assaulting your partner, you will likely be charged with a first-degree misdemeanor rather than a second-degree misdemeanor--including the added penalties if you're convicted.

The court may consider any of the following as an aggravating factor resulting in more severe penalties:

  • If you have prior domestic violence convictions
  • If a child was present during the offense
  • If the victim was pregnant at the time of the offense
  • If a deadly weapon was used
  • If the victim sustained serious bodily injuries from the offense

The court may also consider any of the following as a mitigating factor in domestic violence cases, resulting in lighter sentences:

  • If you have no prior domestic violence convictions or arrests
  • If you took active steps to seek counseling or treatment for yourself after the offense occurred
  • If you have mental or emotional issues from being a prior victim of abuse
  • If the evidence shows the victim is partly culpable for what happened (e.g., provocation, exaggeration)
  • If you show remorse for your actions
  • If you cooperated with law enforcement during the investigation into the offense

The court will also take into account the victim's wishes when deciding on an appropriate sentence. In many cases, the victim does not want to see the defendant go to jail and may request leniency from the court. While this is not a guarantee that the sentence will be lighter, it is something that the judge may consider.

While the court may sometimes show leniency to defendants who are cooperative and remorseful, you can see by the possible penalties above that being accused of domestic violence at any level is something to be taken seriously. Don't make the mistake of underestimating the severity of your charges or the possibility of harsh sentencing. Your best hope of a favorable outcome is to hire an experienced, compassionate, Criminal Defense team who understands domestic violence law in Pennsylvania.

Call the LLF Law Firm today at 888-535-3686 to see how we can help.

Contact Us Today!

The LLF Law Firm Team has decades of experience successfully resolving clients' criminal charges in Philadelphia and the Pennsylvania counties. If you are having any uncertainties about what the future may hold for you or a loved one, contact the LLF Law Firm today! Our Criminal Defense Team will go above and beyond the needs of any client, and will fight until the final bell rings.

This website was created only for general information purposes. It is not intended to be construed as legal advice for any situation. Only a direct consultation with a licensed Pennsylvania, New Jersey, and New York attorney can provide you with formal legal counsel based on the unique details surrounding your situation. The pages on this website may contain links and contact information for third party organizations - the Lento Law Firm does not necessarily endorse these organizations nor the materials contained on their website. In Pennsylvania, Attorney Joseph D. Lento represents clients throughout Pennsylvania's 67 counties, including, but not limited to Philadelphia, Allegheny, Berks, Bucks, Carbon, Chester, Dauphin, Delaware, Lancaster, Lehigh, Monroe, Montgomery, Northampton, Schuylkill, and York County. In New Jersey, attorney Joseph D. Lento represents clients throughout New Jersey's 21 counties: Atlantic, Bergen, Burlington, Camden, Cape May, Cumberland, Essex, Gloucester, Hudson, Hunterdon, Mercer, Middlesex, Monmouth, Morris, Ocean, Passaic, Salem, Somerset, Sussex, Union, and Warren County, In New York, Attorney Joseph D. Lento represents clients throughout New York's 62 counties. Outside of Pennsylvania, New Jersey, and New York, unless attorney Joseph D. Lento is admitted pro hac vice if needed, his assistance may not constitute legal advice or the practice of law. The decision to hire an attorney in Philadelphia, the Pennsylvania counties, New Jersey, New York, or nationwide should not be made solely on the strength of an advertisement. We invite you to contact the Lento Law Firm directly to inquire about our specific qualifications and experience. Communicating with the Lento Law Firm by email, phone, or fax does not create an attorney-client relationship. The Lento Law Firm will serve as your official legal counsel upon a formal agreement from both parties. Any information sent to the Lento Law Firm before an attorney-client relationship is made is done on a non-confidential basis.